State CLE Reqs     My Audio CLE     FAQ     Sitemap     Contact Us    
Home

About Us

Faculty

Upcoming CLE Seminars

Audio CLE Library

Membership

newsB

articles

CLE for Firms

sponsors Us

Contact Us

 CART PREVIEW
Course Price
NY credits: 0.00 $0.00
Add me to your mailing list



The Talmud is a composite of in depth legal analyses of practical law, logical argumentation and moral teachings. Its laws and ethics have served as a cornerstone of humanity's civil and moral infrastructure while shaping its legal-judicial systems. These courses will compare and contrast legal reasoning and adaptation between Talmudic and American law.


State MCLE Requirements


State MCLE Requirements - Select a Jurisdiction
The information provided on this page is for information purposes only. To ensure accurate interpretation, contact your state MCLE authority for specific questions about your MCLE rules.


  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • New Jersey
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming
  • Click on the State of Choice to View CLE Requirements

    ALABAMA
    Attorneys may satisfy up to six (6) hours of their CLE requirements through approved participatory online CLE courses.
    Attorneys must complete 12 credits per reporting period, including one (1) hour of ethics. Up to six (6) credits may be satisfied through approved participatory online CLE programs. See Alabama CLE regulations 4.1.16.
    Reporting Cycle:One year, based on a calendar year, beginning in the second year of admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 12 (total), 1 (Ethics)
    Reporting Date:January 31st
    Carryover:Hours of credit in excess of the minimum annual requirement may be carried forward and applied to succeeding calendar year's requirement only; however such hours must be reported on the annual report of compliance for the year in which they were completed and must be designated as hours to be carried forward.
    General Information:1 credit hour: 60 minutes of participation
    Exemptions:65 years of age or older
    62 years of age and collecting social security
    a judge
    a legislator
    newly admitted to the Alabama bar within the year
    Contact Information:

    Alabama State Bar
    415 Dexter Avenue
    Montgomery, AL 36104
    334-269-1515

    www.alabar.org


    ALASKA
    Attorneys may satisfy all of voluntary CLE requirements through online courses.
    Reporting Cycle:One year, based on a calendar year.
    Cycle Requirement: 12 (total), 1 (Ethics)
    Reporting Date:NOTICE - EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 31, 2003 CHANGE IN VCLE REPORTING: Reporting Period: January 1 - December 31, 2003
    Reporting Method: Alaska attorneys may fulfill all 12 VCLE credits, including ethics, through DigiLearn online audio CLE. Under the Alaska VCLE Rules and Regulations online CLE sponsors are not responsible for reporting CLE attendance. Alaska attorneys have the responsibility of reporting and keeping a record of CLE attendance. At the end of each year, each member will certify on a form, prescribed by the CLE Director and distributed with the invoice for bar dues, the member's approved CLE hours earned during the preceding year. This form will be returned with Bar dues payment in order for the member to be eligible for the Bar dues discount, to be determined annually by the Board of Governors. The form is due February 1, but may be submitted at any time after receipt. Download the certificate of completion and the approved accreditation form for your records.
    Carryover:A member may carry forward up to a maximum of 12 excess credit hours from the immediate prior year to the next reporting period. To be carried forward, the credit hours must have been earned during the calendar year immediately preceding the current reporting period. One ethics credit may be carried forward to the next reporting period. Excess ethics credits above the one credit that may be carried forward to fulfill the ethics guideline can be carried forward and count toward fulfillment of the general credits recommended.
    Extension Information:A member may file a written request for an extension of time for compliance with the Alaska VCLE rule. A request for extension shall be reviewed and determined by the CLE Director. A member who is granted an extension and completes the minimum CLE requirements after the end of the reporting period is not entitled to the discount on bar dues.
    General Information:1 credit hour: 60 minutes of participation. Members who comply with this rule by completing the minimum recommended hours of approved CLE will receive a reduction in their bar dues, in an amount to be determined each year by the Board. Only members who complete the minimum recommended hours of approved CLE are eligible to participate in the Alaska Bar Association's Lawyer Referral Service. If a member does not comply with the VCLE rule by completing the minimum recommended hours of approved CLE, that fact may be taken into account in any Bar disciplinary matter relating to the requirements of Alaska Rule of Professional Conduct 1.1. The Association shall publish annually, and make available to members of the public, a list of attorneys who have complied with this rule's minimum recommended hours of approved CLE. The Association may devise other incentives to encourage compliance with this rule.
    Exemptions:Alaska has voluntary continuing legal education with incentives.
    Contact Information:

    Alaska Bar Association
    510 L Street, Suite 602
    Anchorage, AK 99501
    (t) 907-272-7469
    (f) 907-272-2932

    armstrongb@alaskabar.org
    www.alaskabar.org


    ARIZONA
    Attorneys may satisfy all credits of CLE requirements through online courses.
    The State Bar of Arizona does not approve or accredit CLE activities for the Mandatory Continuing Legal Education requirement. Since all DigiLearn courses include a bulletin board on which the participant can post a question to be answered by the instructor at a later date, DigiLearn courses qualify for AZ interactive credits.
    Reporting Cycle:One year. The reporting cycle is July 1st to June 30th of the following year, beginning in the year of admission. However, depending upon what date the attorney is admitted to the bar, the credit requirement may be pro rated. If the attorney is admitted after January, the requirement will not begin until the next reporting cycle.
    Cycle Requirement: 15 (total), 3 (Ethics, Malpractice Prevention or Professionalism)
    Reporting Date:September 15th
    Reporting Method:The State Bar of Arizona does not approve or accredit CLE activities for the Mandatory Continuing Legal Education requirement. Since all DigiLearn courses include a bulletin board on which the participant can post a question to be answered by the instructor at a later date, DigiLearn courses qualify for AZ interactive credits. Download the certificate of completion and the approved accreditation form for your records.
    Carryover:You can carry forward into the next educational year a maximum of 15 hours. The hours don't change their category when they are carried forward (for instance, Self Study credit won't become Live Interactive credit), and you can't carry forward more than the maximum you are allowed to claim. For example, the regulations limit you to earning five (5) hours of self-study each year; therefore, you can only carry forward five (5) self-study hours even though you may have seven (7) extra self-study hours.
    General Information:1 credit hour: 60 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:70 years of age or older or due to hardship.
    Contact Information:

    MCLE Committee of the State Bar of Arizona
    Attention: Marnie Leinberger
    marnie.leinberger@staff.azbar.org
    Phone: (602) 340 7327
    111 West Monroe, Suite 1800
    Phoenix, AZ 85003-1742
    Phone: (602) 252-4804

    azbar@azbar.org
    www.azbar.org


    ARKANSAS
    Attorneys may not satisfy their CLE requirements through online courses.
    Reporting Cycle:One year. The reporting cycle is July 1st to June 30th, beginning in the second year of admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 12 (total), 1 (Ethics)
    Reporting Date:August 31st
    Carryover:Up to 12 credits may be carried over to the next reporting cycle (for the succeeding reporting period only) and may include one (1) hour of ethics.
    General Information:1 credit hour: 60 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:70 years of age or older or have been an attorney for 40 years or more.
    Contact Information:

    Arkansas CLE Board
    2400 Justice Bldg.
    625 Marshall
    Little Rock, AR 72201
    (t) 501-374-1855
    (f) 501-374-1853
    www.arkbar.com


    CALIFORNIA
    Attorneys may satisfy all 25 credits of CLE requirements through online courses. IATLaw.org is an Approved California MCLE provider (Provider #13532).
    If a provider verifies your "participation," an activity is "participatory". Provider verification consists of the following: the provider has you sign in at the time of the activity (electronic sign-in is acceptable), the provider keeps a list of those who sign in, and the provider issues a certificate of attendance to attendees. Online courses, CD ROM-based courses, and some tape-based courses can count for participatory credit if they are verified by an approved provider. If unsure, contact the individual provider to verify that the program has been approved for participatory credit. IATLaw.org's online programs are considered participatory because they utilize verification.
    Reporting Cycle:Three years, beginning with the year of admission to the bar. The reporting cycle is February 1st to January 31st of the following year.
    Cycle Requirement: 25 (total), 1 (Elimination of Bias) , 4 (Ethics) , 1 (Substance Abuse)
    Reporting Date:Reporting requirement dates are based on last names:
    Group 1 (A-G) Period: 02/01/04 - 01/31/07
    Group 2 (H-M) Period: 02/01/06 - 01/31/09
    Group 3 (N-Z) Period: 02/01/05 - 01/31/08
    Reporting Method:California attorneys are allowed to take all 25 credit hours online. If a provider verifies your "participation" an activity is "participatory". Provider verification consists of: 1) the provider has you sign in at the time of the activity (electronic sign-in is acceptable), 2) the provider keeps a list of those who sign in, and 3) the provider issues a certificate of attendance to attendees. Online courses, CD ROM-based courses, and some tape-based courses can count for participatory credit if they are verified by an approved provider. If unsure, contact the individual provider to verify that the program has been approved for participatory credit. Completion of the course evaluation is a requirement in California. Download the certificate of completion and the approved accreditation form for your records and retain for one year after your compliance period deadline. Members are not required to submit records unless specifically requested to do so in accordance with CA MCLE Rule 7.4. IATLaw.org's on-demand programs are considered participatory because they utilize verification.
    Carryover:No credits may be carried over to the next reporting cycle.
    General Information:Credit hour: 60 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:Elected official of California
    Full-time professor
    United States government employee
    Full-time employee of the state of California
    Providing pro bono legal services thorough qualified legal services centers.
    Contact Information:

    Office of Certification
    State Bar of California
    180 Howard Street
    San Francisco, CA 94105-1639
    (t) 415-538-2100
    (f) 415-538-2180
    www.calbar.ca.gov


    COLORADO
    Attorneys may satisfy all credits of CLE requirements through online courses.
    Reporting Cycle:Three years, based on a calendar year.
    Cycle Requirement: 45 (total), 7 (Ethics)
    Reporting Date:Anytime within the three-year reporting cycle, but not later than January 31st following the third year. Even if you have completed CLE by the December 31st deadline, but do not report your compliance by January 31st of the following year, you will be charged a $50 late reporting fee.
    Reporting Method:All 45 MCLE credit hours are allowed in online format. Send a home-study affidavit to the address below. Download the certificate of completion and the approved accreditation form for your records. Colorado Supreme Court Board of CLE 600 17th Street Suite 520-S Denver, CO 80202
    Carryover:No credits may be carried over to the next reporting cycle.
    Extension Information:Filing a MAKE-UP plan: If you do not complete the necessary educational activity by December 31st of your compliance period, you may file a request for an extension of time. Your request should be filed on the MAKE-UP PLAN FORM included with your CLE transcript letter. An extension of your original compliance period can be granted only if you file an acceptable MAKEUP PLAN. An acceptable MAKE-UP PLAN consists of the following:

    1. Listing seminars or homestudy programs that have already been accredited by the Board which you intend to take to remedy your deficiency and being certain that the course of study chosen offers enough CLE credits to actually make up your deficiency.

    2. Completion of the CLE study no later than May 31st, 2005.

    3. Sending a check for $50 made payable to the Board of Continuing Legal Education. (This fee must be paid even if your makeup plan is completed before January 31st). If the MAKE-UP PLAN is filed after January 31st, the fee is $100.

    Please note that any extra CLE credits earned while completing a MAKE-UP PLAN may not be carried over to your next compliance period.
    General Information:1 credit hour: 50 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:65 years of age or older.
    Contact Information:

    Colorado Supreme Court
    Board of CLE
    600 17th Street
    Suite 520-S
    Denver, CO 80202
    (t) 303-893-8094 Ext. 8
    (f) 303-893-0541
    www.courts.state.co.us


    CONNECTICUT
    Connecticut does not have mandatory CLE requirements. Completion of CLE is encouraged to help lawyers and judges increase their general professional competence, keep abreast of developments in the law, and become more proficient in selected areas of practice. If you are licensed in another jurisdiction with mandatory CLE requirements, please note specific state accreditation information and reporting requirements of IATLaw.org's courses and download a certificate of completion for your records.
    Cycle Requirement:No State Requirement
    Contact Information:

    Connecticut Bar
    30 Bank Street
    New Britain, CT 06050
    (t) 860-223-4400
    (f) 860-223-4488

    www.ctbar.org


    DELAWARE
    Attorneys may satisfy up to 12 self-study credits, including four (4) enhanced ethics credits, through online courses.
    Reporting Cycle:Two years, beginning on the second anniversary of admission to the Delaware Bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 20 (total), 4 (Ethics or Professional Responsibility)
    Reporting Date:February 1st
    Carryover:If an attorney completes more than 24 credit hours of instruction in a two-year period, excess credit up to 20 credits may be carried forward and applied to the education requirement for the succeeding two-year period only.
    NOTE: Enhanced Ethics credits may not be carried over.
    General Information:1 credit hour: 60 minutes of participation.

    Exemptions:Retired
    Holding elected office
    Federal judge

    If admitted to the Delaware Bar Association over 40 years, the requirements are reduced to 12 total credit hours, with 10 general hours and 2 enhanced ethics hours.
    Contact Information:

    Commission on CLE
    200 W. 9th Street, Suite 300-B
    Wilmington, DE 19802
    (t) 302-577-7040
    (f) 302-577-7037

    www.dsba.org


    DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
    The District of Columbia does not have mandatory CLE requirements. Completion of CLE is encouraged to help lawyers and judges increase their general professional competence, keep abreast of developments in the law, and become more proficient in selected areas of practice. If you are licensed in another jurisdiction with mandatory CLE requirements, please note specific state accreditation information and reporting requirements of IATLaw.org courses and download a certificate of completion for your records.
    Cycle Requirement:No State Requirement
    Contact Information:

    District of Columbia Bar
    1250 H Street NW, 6th Fl.
    Washington, DC 20005-5937
    (t) 202-737-4700
    (f) 202-626-3471

    www.dcbar.org


    FLORIDA
    Attorneys may satisfy all CLE requirements through online courses.
    NOTE ABOUT CREDIT FOR COURSES NOT PREVIOUSLY APPROVED
    (click catalog link above for already approved courses.)

    Florida attorneys can take CLE courses not previously approved providing they apply for credit and supply the necessary documents.

    Link: Florida Application form (pdf) | Florida FAQ
    PLEASE ATTACH A COURSE BROCHURE AND/OR OUTLINE WHICH:

    • (A) FULLY DESCRIBES THE COURSE CONTENT AND LEVEL OF PRESENTATION
    • (B) INDICATES THE TIME DEVOTED TO EACH TOPIC COVERED WITHIN THE PROGRAM
    • (C) IDENTIFIES THE INSTRUCTORS
    IAT Law will supply these documents to clients who wish to apply for credit. Florida will approve courses not previously accredited, on a case-by-case basis and credit is not assured.
    Reporting Cycle:Three years, beginning the date of admission in the year of admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 30 (total), 5 (Ethics, Professionalism or Substance Abuse)
    Reporting Date:The State Bar assigns the reporting date during bar admission process.
    Reporting Method:Florida attorneys are required to report CLE hours earned every three years. Each member is assigned a three year reporting cycle. You may find your reporting date on the mailing label of The Florida Bar News.
    Florida attorneys may now post their credits online. In order to directly report your credit you will need to do the following:
    1. Go to www.floridabar.org
    2. Click on Member Profile on the right side of the web page.
    3. Click on CLE Activity Posting.

    After you have completed posting all of your credits, don't forget to print the confirmation page for your records. You will need to request a password prior to using any of the online functions. Please allow 5-7 days to receive your confidential password. This web site is supported by the Florida Legal Specialization and Education department which can be reached at 850-561-5842

    Carryover:No credit hours may be carried over to the next reporting cycle.
    General Information:1 credit hour: 50 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:A judge
    An inactive attorney in or out of state
    On active military duty
    Contact Information:

    Legal Specialization & CLE
    The Florida Bar
    650 Apalachee Parkway
    Tallahassee, FL 32399-2300
    (t) 850-561-5842 x 6799
    (f) 850-561-5660

    www.FLABar.org


    GEORGIA
    Attorneys may satisfy up to six (6) distance learning/self-study credits, including specialty credits, through online courses.
    Reporting Cycle:One year, based on a calendar year.
    Cycle Requirement: 12 (total), 1 (Ethics) , 1 (Professionalism) , 3 (Trial Skills)
    Reporting Date:January 31st
    Carryover:Up to 12 general credits, 2 ethics credits, and 2 professionalism credits may be carried over to the next reporting cycle.
    General Information:1 credit hour: 60 minutes of participation.

    Please note: If you are a trial attorney, you are required to take three (3) trial credits per reporting period.
    Exemptions:70 years of age or older
    Inactive or out of state
    CLE compliance in another state
    A judge
    An elected official
    Contact Information:

    GA Commission of Continuing Lawyer Competency
    50 Hurt Plaza
    Atlanta, GA 30303
    (t) 800-334-6865
    (f) 404-527-8715

    www.gabar.org


    HAWAII
    Hawaii does not have mandatory CLE requirements. Completion of CLE is encouraged to help lawyers and judges increase their general professional competence, keep abreast of developments in the law, and become more proficient in selected areas of practice. If you are licensed in another jurisdiction with mandatory CLE requirements, please note specific state accreditation information and reporting requirements of IATLaw.org courses and download a certificate of completion for your records.
    Cycle Requirement:No State Requirement
    Contact Information:

    Hawaii State Bar Association
    1136 Union Mall, PH 1
    Honolulu, HI 96813
    (t) 808-537-1868
    (f) 808-521-7936
    www.hsba.org


    IDAHO
    Attorneys may satisfy up to 15 self-study credits of CLE requirements through online courses.
    Reporting Cycle:Three years, beginning January 1st of the calendar year following the date of admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 30 (total), 2 (Ethics or Professional Responsibility)
    Reporting Date:January 31st
    Carryover:Credits may not be carried over to next reporting cycle.
    General Information:1 credit hour: 60 minutes of participation.

    If newly admitted attorney, basic skills: One (1) credit hour within 12 months of admission.
    Exemptions:72 years of age or older and unable to comply or if undue hardship.
    Contact Information:

    Idaho State Bar
    525 W. Jefferson
    Boise, ID 83702
    (t) 208-334-4500
    (f) 208-334-4515

    www2.state.id.us/isb


    ILLINOIS
    Illinois attorneys can satisfy all CLE requirements through online courses.

    Beginning July 1, 2006, Illinois attorneys will be required to complete 20 hours of CLE activity during the initial two-year reporting period as determined on the basis of the lawyer's last name ending on June 30 of either 2008 or 2009, 24 hours of CLE activity during the two-year reporting period ending on June 30 of either 2010 or 2011, and 30 hours of CLE activity during all subsequent two-year reporting periods.

    A minimum of four of the total hours required for any two-year period must be in the area of professionalism, diversity issues, mental illness and addiction issues, civility, or legal ethics.
    Reporting Cycle:Two-year reporting period shall begin on July 1 of even-numbered years for lawyers whose last names begin with the letters A through M and on July 1 of odd-numbered years for lawyers whose last names begin with N through Z
    Cycle Requirement: 20 (total)
    Reporting Date:June 30, 2008 - last name begins with A through M
    June 30, 2009 - last name begins with N through Z
    Reporting Method:(1) On or before the first day of the month preceding the end of an attorney’s Basic Skills Course requirement reporting period or two-year reporting period, the Director shall mail the attorney, at the most recent address the attorney has provided to the ARDC pursuant to Rule 756(c), a certification, to be completed by the attorney, stating whether, with respect to that reporting period, the attorney either has complied with these Rules, has not complied with these Rules, or is exempt from these Rules. A certification need not be sent to an attorney known by the Director to be exempt from these Rules.

    (2) Every Illinois attorney who is either subject to these Rules or who receives an MCLE certification shall complete, sign and submit the certification to the Board within 31 days after the end of the attorney’s reporting period, i.e., no later than July 31. It is the responsibility of each attorney on the master roll to notify the ARDC of any change of address. Failure to receive an MCLE certification shall not constitute an excuse for failure to file the certification.

    Carryover:

    (1) All CLE activity hours may be earned in one year or split in any manner between the two-year reporting period. If an attorney earns more than the required CLE hours in a two-year reporting period, the attorney may carry over a maximum of 10 hours earned during that period to the next reporting period, except for professional responsibility credits

    (2) A newly admitted attorney may carry over to his or her first two-year reporting period a maximum of 10 CLE activity hours (except for professional responsibility credits referred to in paragraph (d)) earned after completing the Basic Skills Course requirement pursuant to Rule 793.

    (3) An attorney, other than a newly admitted attorney, may carry over to his or her first two-year reporting period a maximum of 10 CLE activity hours (except for professional responsibility credits referred to in paragraph (d)) earned between January 1, 2006, and the beginning of that period.

    Extension Information:
    (b) Attorneys who fail to submit an MCLE certification within 45 days of their reporting date, or who file a certification stating that they have not complied with these Rules during the reporting period, shall be notified by the Director of their noncompliance and given until September 30 of that year to achieve compliance and file a certification stating that they have complied with these Rules or are exempt. The Director shall not send a notice of noncompliance to attorneys whom the Director knows are exempt from these Rules.

    (c) Attorneys given additional time pursuant to paragraph (b) to comply with the requirements of these Rules may use that "grace period" to attain the adequate number of hours for compliance. Credit hours earned during a grace period may be counted toward compliance with the previous reporting period requirement, and hours in excess of the requirement may be used to meet the current reporting period’s requirement. No attorney may receive more than one grace period with respect to the same reporting period, and the grace period shall not be extended if the Director fails to send, or the attorney fails to receive, a notice pursuant to paragraph (b)
    General Information:Credit Hour: 60 minutes shall equal one hour of credit. Partial credit shall be earned for qualified activities of less than 60 minutes duration.
    Exemptions:
    The following persons, shall be exempt from the Rules’ requirements:

    (1) All attorneys on inactive or retirement status pursuant to Supreme Court Rules 756(a)(5) or (a)(6), respectively;

    (2) All attorneys on disability inactive status pursuant to Supreme Court Rules 757 or 758;

    (3) All attorneys serving in the office of justice, judge, associate judge, or magistrate of any federal or state court;

    (4) All attorneys licensed to practice law in Illinois who are on active duty in the Armed Forces of the United States, until their release from active military service and their return to the active practice of law;

    (5) An attorney otherwise subject to this rule who is also a member of the bar of another state which has a minimum continuing education requirement, who is regularly engaged in the practice of law in that state, and who has appropriate proof that he or she is in full compliance with the continuing legal education requirements established by court rule or legislation in that state; and

    (6) In rare cases, upon a clear showing of good cause, the Board may grant a temporary exemption to an attorney from the Minimum Continuing Legal Education ("MCLE") requirements, or an extension of time in which to satisfy them. Good cause for an exemption or extension may exist in the event of illness, financial hardship, or other extraordinary or extenuating circumstances beyond the control of the attorney.
    Contact Information:

    Illinois State Bar Association
    Illinois Bar Center
    Springfield, IL 62701-1779
    (t) 217-525-1760
    (f) 217-525-0712

    http://www.state.il.us/court/SupremeCourt/default.htm


    INDIANA
    Attorneys may receive up to six hours of credit per three-year education period for distance education activities which includes online courses.
    Reporting Cycle:Three years, based on a calendar year, beginning in the year of admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 36 (total), 3 (Ethics)
    Reporting Date:December 31st
    Carryover:Credits may not be carried over to the next reporting cycle.
    General Information:1 credit hour: 60 minutes of participation.
    NOTE: a minimum of 6 hours must be completed each calendar year.
    Exemptions:Federal judge
    Special circumstances
    Contact Information:

    Indiana Commission for CLE
    115 West Washington Street
    Suite 1065, South Tower
    Indianapolis, IN 46204-3417
    (t) 317-232-1943
    (f) 317-233-1442

    www.in.gov/judiciary/cle/index.html


    IOWA
    Attorneys may satisfy up to six (6) credits of CLE requirements through online courses as computer-based legal education under Rule 41.3(3).
    Reporting Cycle:One year, based on a calendar year, beginning with the first full year of admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 15 (total), 2 (Ethics)
    Reporting Date:March 1st
    Reporting Method:Attorneys may satisfy up to six (6) credits of CLE requirements through online courses as computer-based legal education under Rule 41.3(3). CLE credits earned in each calendar year are reported by the attorney to the Iowa Commission on Continuing Legal Education on or before March 1st of each year. Legal ethics credits are reported on or before March 1st following completion of the two year period. Per Rule 41.4(2), on or before March 1st of each year, attorneys admitted to practice in Iowa shall make a written report to the Commission, in a form prescribed by the Commission, concerning completion of accredited legal education in the preceding calendar year; provided, however, that an attorney shall not be required to comply with this rule nor with the continuing legal education requirements for the year during which the attorney was admitted to practice. Each annual report shall be accompanied by proof satisfactory to the commission that the attorney has met the requirements. Per Rule 41.4(3), attorneys admitted to practice in Iowa shall make a written report to the Commission, in a form prescribed by the Commission, concerning completion of accredited legal ethics education. The report is to be filed on or before March 1st following completion of the two year period. An attorney shall not be required to comply with this requirement for the year of admission to practice. Download the certificate of completion and the approved accreditation form for your records.
    Carryover:Up to 30 credits may be carried over to next reporting cycle, but no ethics credits may be carried over.
    Extension Information:

    NEW! Court Approves One-Time Extension of Due Date for CLE and Client Security Reports and Fees to Facilitate On-line Filing

    On February 20, 2006 the Iowa Supreme Court entered an order extending the due date for this year’s annual client security reports and questionnaires and continuing legal education (CLE) reports and associated fees from March 1, 2006 to April 17, 2006.  No late filing fee or penalty will be assessed on any client security or CLE report filed on or before April 17, 2006.   The Court’s order provides that this extension applies only to the annual reports and associated fees otherwise due on or before March 1, 2006.  In 2007 and future years, the due date will remain March 1st.  A copy of the Court’s order is available here:  In PDF Format

    The one-time extension of the report deadline is intended to facilitate and encourage use of the new on-line report filing utility offered by the Commission on Continuing Legal Education and the Client Security Commission.  The commissions’ staff currently is preparing the instruction letters containing login instructions, user names and passwords for all active lawyers for whom the commissions currently have a valid electronic mail address on record.

    General Information:1 credit hour: 60 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:Inactive as attorney.
    Contact Information:

    Commission on CLE
    State Capital
    Des Moines, IA 50319
    (t) 515-725-8029
    www.judicial.state.ia.us
    www.iowabar.org


    KANSAS
    Attorneys may satisfy up to five (5) credits of CLE requirements as alternative delivery methods such as interactive online computer based programs (Kansas CLE Commission Rule 4.14 and 4.15). In Kansas, computer based programs may be accredited for actual time spent to a maximum of one hour of credit per activity.

    Note: The professional responsibility credits may not be earned online and can only be carried over as general credits if earned as live in-person programming.
    Reporting Cycle:One year. The reporting cycle is July 1st to June 30th, beginning in the year after admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 12 (total), 2 (Professional Responsibility)
    Reporting Date:July 31st
    Carryover:Up to 10 credits may be carried over to the next reporting cycle.
    NOTE: The following hours are not eligible for carryover credit: professional responsibility, authorship, in-house, guardian ad litem or teaching.
    General Information:1 credit hour: 50 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:Newly admitted attorney prior to first regular registration date following admission
    Inactive or retired attorney
    A judge
    Undue hardship.
    Contact Information:

    Kansas CLE Commission
    400 S. Kansas Avenue, Suite 202
    Topeka, KS 66603
    (t) 785-357-6510

    www.ksbar.org


    KENTUCKY
    Attorneys may satisfy up to six (6) credits of CLE requirements through accredited online courses labeled technologically transmitted credits per SCR 3.662(1)(j).
    Reporting Cycle:One year. The reporting cycle runs from July 1st to June 30th, beginning in the year after admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 12.5 (total), 2 (Ethics)
    Reporting Date:July 1st (but no later than August 10th). On or before July 1st, every non-exempt member shall certify to the Director that he or she has completed a minimum of 12.5 credit hours of CLE, including a minimum of two (2) credit hours in ethics, professional responsibility or professionalism. Certification may be submitted on approved Association forms or on Uniform Certificates adopted by the Association. Certification may be submitted to the Director upon completion of CLE activity at any time during the reporting cycle. Certification shall not be submitted later than August 10th following the reporting cycle.
    Reporting Method:Kentucky attorneys must complete 12.5 credit hours, including two (2) hours of ethics, professional responsibility or professionalism every one year reporting cycle, which begins on July 1st and ends June 30th. Please note that per Kentucky's MCLE rules, integration of legal ethics or professional responsibility into substantive law topics is encouraged, but will not count toward the two (2) credit minimum annual requirement. Newly admitted attorneys must complete a 12.5 hour New Lawyer Skills Program within 12 months of admission to bar. Kentucky attorneys may satisfy up to six (6) credits of CLE requirements through IATLaw.org accredited online courses labeled technologically transmitted credits per SCR 3.662(1)(j). On or before July 1st, every non-exempt member shall certify to the Director that he or she has completed a minimum of 12.5 credit hours of CLE, including a minimum of two (2) credit hours in ethics, professional responsibility or professionalism. Certification may be submitted on approved Association forms or on Uniform Certificates adopted by the Association. Certification may be submitted to the Director upon completion of CLE activity at any time during the reporting cycle. Certification shall not be submitted later than August 10th following the reporting cycle. Please download a certificate of completion for your records.
    Carryover:Up to 25 credits may be carried over to the next two reporting cycles. Carry-forward credits shall be allowed to satisfy the two (2) credit annual requirement for continuing legal education addressing the topics of legal ethics, professional responsibility and professionalism, and may be carried forward into the two years next succeeding the year in which the hours were earned. Carry forward for ethics, professional responsibility and professionalism is limited to a total of four (4) credits.
    General Information:1 credit hour: 60 minutes of participation.
    NOTE: Newly Admitted Attorneys MUST take New Lawyer Skills Program (12.5 credit hours) within 12 months of admission to bar.
    Exemptions:75 years of age or older
    member of the bar for 50 years or more
    inactive
    judge
    hardship
    first year attorney before the full educational year begins
    Contact Information:

    Kentucky Bar Association
    514 W. Main Street
    Frankfort, KY 40601-1883
    (t) 502-564-3795
    (f) 502-564-3225

    www.kybar.org


    LOUISIANA
    Attorneys may satisfy up to four (4) credits of CLE requirements through online credits labeled technological transmission credits.

    NOTE: Effective for Calendar Year 2005 only, attorneys who are subject to the Rules for Continuing Legal Education, shall not be required to complete the annual minimum legal education requirement of 12.5 hours.

    The minimum annual legal education requirement of 12.5 hours, which is codified in Rule XXX, Rule 3(a) and Regulation 3.1 of the Rules, shall be in effect for Calendar Year 2006.

    Newly Admitted Attorneys: Pursuant to Rule 3, any Newly Admitted active members shall, during the first year of admission through the next calendar year, attend 12.5 hours of approved CLE and not less than eight (8) of those hours shall concern legal ethics, professionalism, or law office management. Law office management concerns knowledge and skills of practice including courses on how to:

    1. Open and operate a client trust account;
    2. Establish a calendar (tickler) system;
    3. Communicate with clients;
    4. Set fee arrangements, send engagement letters, and establish billing procedures;
    5. Avoid and/or obtain help for substance abuse problems;
    6. Supervise staff;
    7. Organize files;
    8. Utilize a conflicts check system;
    9. Handle a disciplinary complaint;
    10. Terminate representation
    11. Return files

    Reporting Cycle:One year, based on a calendar year.
    Cycle Requirement: 12.5 (total), 1 (Ethics) , 1 (Professionalism)
    Reporting Date:January 31st
    Reporting Method:Attorneys may satisfy up to four (4) credits of CLE requirements through online credits labeled technological transmissions credits. Effective June 5, 2003, the Louisiana Supreme Court amended the rules governing Mandatory Continuing Legal Education. These amendments now allow up to four (4) self-study CLE credits per year to be earned through technological transmissions. Technological transmissions include on-demand audio or video programs, live webcasts and other appropriate technology as approved by the MCLE Committee.
    Carryover:Up to eight (8) credits may be carried over to the next reporting cycle, but they must be reported to the Louisiana Bar on the annual Report of Compliance the year that they are earned. Ethics and Professionalism credits carried over to the next year DO NOT count as ethics or professionalism credits but rather as general credits.
    General Information:1 credit hour: 60 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:1st year of admission to the bar
    65 years of age or older
    a non-practicing lawyer
    out of state
    a member of Congress
    a federal judge or magistrate
    on active duty with the United States armed forces
    Contact Information:

    LA State Bar Association
    601 St. Charles Avenue
    New Orleans, LA 70130
    (t) 800-421-5722
    (f) 504-528-9154

    www.lsba.org


    MAINE
    Attorneys may satisfy all five and a half (5.5) self-study credits through online courses.
    Reporting Cycle:One year, based on a calendar year.
    Cycle Requirement: 11 (total), 1 (Ethics or Professional Responsibility)
    Reporting Date:CLE credits earned in each calendar year are reported by the attorney to the Board of Overseers in June/July of the following year in connection with the filing of the annual registration statement.
    Reporting Method:Licensed Maine attorneys may fulfill all five and a half (5.5) CLE self-study credits through IATLaw.org's online CLE. CLE credits earned in each calendar year are reported by the attorney to the Board of Overseers in June/July of the following year in connection with the filing of the annual registration statement. Keep a copy of the certificate of completion form for your records.
    Carryover:Up to 11 credits may be carried forward, but Professional Responsibility must be satisfied for each alendar year.
    Extension Information:Any attorney subject to the requirements of the Maine MCLE rule who has not reported information demonstrating compliance with, or exemption from, those requirements by August 31st is automatically suspended. Notice of the suspension shall be given by the Board by registered or certified mail return receipt requested addressed to the office or home address last known to the Board. Such suspension for failure to comply with this rule shall not be effective until thirty (30) days after the date of mailing the notice thereof. The failure to file shall not be considered a violation of the Code of Professional Responsibility per se, and the suspension for failure to file shall not constitute the imposition of discipline. An attorney who, after the date of the mailing of such notice of suspension but before the effective date of such suspension, reports compliance with this rule, takes steps satisfactory to the Board to meet the requirements of the rule for the year in question or applies for a waiver on the basis of hardship or other good cause shall not be suspended for failure to comply with the rule; otherwise the attorney shall be subject to Maine Bar Rules 7.3(i)(2) and (j). An attorney aggrieved as a result of a suspension under this paragraph may apply to the Board Chair for summary relief for good cause shown.
    General Information:a) 1 credit hour: 60 minutes of participation.
    b) An attorney subject to the Maine Bar MCLE rules who is a member of the bar of another state which has a mandatory CLE requirement, and who is regularly engaged in the practice of law in that state satisfies the requirement of Maine Bar Rule 12 if the attorney is in compliance with a continuing legal education requirement established by court rule or statute in that state. If the other state does not require the equivalent of at least one credit hour per year in ethics or professional responsibility, the attorney must complete at least one approved credit hour in ethics or professional responsibility in each calendar year. An attorney subject to this rule who is a member of the bar of another state must meet the requirement of Maine Bar Rule 12 if continuing legal education is not mandated by court rule or statute in the other state.
    Exemptions:Per Maine Bar Rule 12(5) The following individuals otherwise subject to this rule are exempted from its requirements:

    (A) Attorneys in inactive status pursuant to Rule 6(c);

    (B) Full-time judges in any state or federal jurisdiction;

    (C) Full-time teachers in any law school approved by the American Bar Association;

    (D) Members of the armed forces of the United States on active duty, unless they are practicing law in Maine;

    (E) Residents of another country unless they are practicing law in Maine;.

    (F) Attorneys who have practiced 40 years or more, attained the age of 65 years, and are engaged in less than the full-time practice of law;

    (G) In the discretion of the Board, any individual may be exempted from all or part of the requirements of this rule upon a showing of hardship or disability;

    (H) Legislators and members of Congress.

    Contact Information:

    Board of Overseers of the Bar
    PO Box 527
    Augusta, ME 14332
    Phone: (207) 623-1121
    Fax: (207) 623-4175

    www.mainebar.org


    MARYLAND
    Maryland does not have mandatory CLE requirements. Completion of CLE is encouraged to help lawyers and judges increase their general professional competence, keep abreast of developments in the law, and become more proficient in selected areas of practice. If you are licensed in another jurisdiction with mandatory CLE requirements, please note specific state accreditation information and reporting requirements of IATLaw.org courses and download a certificate of completion for your records.
    Cycle Requirement:No State Requirement
    Contact Information:

    Maryland State Bar Association
    Maryland Bar Center
    Baltimore, MD 21201
    (t) 410-685-7878
    (f) 410-837-0518

    www.msba.org


    MASSACHUSETTS
    Massachusetts does not have mandatory CLE requirements. Completion of CLE is encouraged to help lawyers and judges increase their general professional competence, keep abreast of developments in the law, and become more proficient in selected areas of practice. If you are licensed in another jurisdiction with mandatory CLE requirements, please note specific state accreditation information and reporting requirements of IATLaw.org courses and download a certificate of completion for your records.
    Cycle Requirement:No State Requirement
    Contact Information:

    Massachusetts Bar Association
    20 West Street
    Boston, MA 02111
    (t) 617-338-0500

    www.massbar.org


    MICHIGAN
    Michigan does not have mandatory CLE requirements. Completion of CLE is encouraged to help lawyers and judges increase their general professional competence, keep abreast of developments in the law, and become more proficient in selected areas of practice. If you are licensed in another jurisdiction with mandatory CLE requirements, please note specific state accreditation information and reporting requirements of IATLaw.org courses and download a certificate of completion for your records.
    Cycle Requirement:No State Requirement
    Contact Information:

    State Bar of Michigan
    306 Townsend Street
    Lansing, MI 48933-2083
    (t) 800-968-1442
    (f) 517-482-6248

    www.michbar.org


    MINNESOTA
    Attorneys may not satisfy CLE requirements through on demand online courses. Minnesota CLE requirements may be satisfied through live webcasts.
    Reporting Cycle:Three years. The reporting cycle is July 1st to June 30th, beginning in the year of admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 45 (total), 2 (Elimination of Bias) , 3 (Ethics)
    Reporting Date:July 30th
    Carryover:Credits may not be carried over to the next reporting cycle.
    General Information:1 credit hour: 60 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:Restricted or retired status.
    Contact Information:

    Minnesota State Board of CLE
    25 Constitution Avenue, Suite 110
    St. Paul, MN 55155
    (t) 651-297-7100
    (f) 651-296-5866

    http://www.mbcle.state.mn.us/mbcle/pages/home.asp


    MISSISSIPPI
    Attorneys may satisfy up to three (3) hours of their CLE requirements through online courses.
    NOTE: Due to the devastation caused by Hurricane Katrina, the Mississippi Commission on Continuing Legal Education has combined the requirements and reporting deadline for the 2004-2005 reporting year with the deadline for the 2005-2006 reporting year so that each attorney, unless otherwise exempted, is required to have earned 24 hours of continuing legal education credit, including two hours of ethics by July 31, 2006. These credits must be reported to the Commission by August 15, 2006.
    Reporting Cycle:One year. The reporting cycle is August 1st to July 31st, beginning in the year of admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 12 (total), 1 (Ethics, Malpractice Prevention or Professionalism)
    Reporting Date:August 15th
    Carryover:Up to 12 credits may be carried over to the next reporting cycle. Such hours must be reported in the annual report of compliance for the CLE year in which they were completed and must be designated as hours to be carried forward. This regulation applies to attorneys claiming exemptions also. Ethics hours in excess of the one-hour requirement for the year may not be carried over to another year as ethics hours, although they may be carried over as regular hours.
    General Information:1 credit hour: 60 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:70 years of age or older
    an inactive lawyer or non-resident
    a first year lawyer
    an elected official who is not practicing law
    a judge
    in the United States armed forces.
    Contact Information:

    Mississippi Commission on CLE
    656 N. State Street
    Jackson, MS 39202
    (t) 601-354-6056
    (f) 601-354-6058

    http://www.mssc.state.ms.us/CLE/


    MISSOURI
    Attorneys may satisfy up to six (6) credits of CLE requirements through self-study (except ethics, professionalism, or malpractice prevention) via the Internet and/or online without a contemporaneous live instructor.
    . Under Missouri Supreme Court Rule 15, up to six (6) of the required 15 hours may be satisfied through self-study. Self-study may not be reported to satisfy the ethics requirements of Rule 15 unless special authorization is granted due to a hardship such as a physical disability that makes attendance at programs unreasonably difficult. Also, self-study is excluded from the determination of carryover credit. The Missouri Bar does not specifically review or approve the materials that Missouri lawyers may report for self-study credit. Each Missouri lawyer may select the legal materials that will enhance his or her professional competence.
    Reporting Cycle:One year. The reporting cycle is July 1st to June 30th, beginning the second year of admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 15 (total), 3 (Ethics, Malpractice Prevention or Professionalism)
    Reporting Date:July 31st
    Reporting Method: Under Missouri Supreme Court Rule 15, up to six (6) of the required 15 hours may be satisfied through self-study. Self-study may not be reported to satisfy the ethics requirements of Rule 15 unless special authorization is granted due to a hardship such as a physical disability that makes attendance at programs unreasonably difficult. Also, self-study is excluded from the determination of carryover credit. The Missouri Bar does not specifically review or approve the materials that Missouri lawyers may report for self-study credit. Each Missouri lawyer may select the legal materials that will enhance his or her professional competence. Download the certificate of completion and the approved accreditation form for your records.
    Carryover:Up to 15 credits may be carried over to the next reporting cycle, but must be reported on the annual Compliance Report.
    NOTE: The carryover hours cannot include online seminars.
    General Information:1 credit hour: 50 minutes of participation.
    NOTE: Newly admitted attorneys need three (3) credit hours of ethics in the 1st reporting cycle.
    Exemptions:inactive or out of the state (but must file annual Report of Compliance)
    attorney newly admitted to Bar
    a government official
    have hardship
    Contact Information:

    The Missouri Bar
    326 Monroe Street
    Jefferson City, MO 65102
    (t) 573-635-4128
    (f) 573-635-2811

    www.mobar.org


    MONTANA
    Attorneys may satisfy five (5) credits of CLE requirements through online courses.
    Montana will now honor the approval of other states, so if a seminar has been approved for CLE credit in another state, there is no need to apply for approval of CLE credit in Montana. Simply attach documentation of approval to your affidavit at the end of the reporting year.
    Reporting Cycle:One year. The reporting cycle is April 1st to March 31st, beginning in the first full year of admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 15 (total), 5 (Ethics)
    Reporting Date:April 1st
    Affidavits are due by April 1st each year. A $25 late penalty is assessed for affidavits received after April 30th. The penalty fee increases to $125 for affidavits received after May 15th. The Montana Supreme Court will be notified of all attorneys in non-compliance for CLE after June 1st of each year. The Court will then issue an order to each attorney to show cause why the Court should not suspend the attorney from the practice of law. Attorneys in non-compliance for a second consecutive year will be charged a $300 late fee.
    Reporting Method:Montana attorneys are allowed to take five (5) credit hours per year online. Pursuant to Rule 5A of MT MCLE Rules, on or before April 1st, members must file an affidavit with the Commission reporting CLE activity in the preceding reporting year. The State Bar of Montana PO Box 577 Helena, MT 59624 Download the certificate of completion and the approved accreditation form for your records.
    Carryover:Up to 30 credits may be carried over to reporting cycles over the next two years.
    NOTE: No online seminar credits may be carried over.
    General Information:1 credit hour: 60 minutes of participation. Credits can be earned in quarter-hour increments: 15 minutes ia equal to .25 credits. A minimum of 10 credits must be earned by attending "Live" or "Interactive" seminars
    Exemptions:70 years of age or older
    an inactive lawyer or non-resident
    a first year lawyer
    an elected official who is not practicing law
    a judge
    in the United States armed forces
    Contact Information:

    MCLE Administrator
    46 N. Last Chance Gulch, Suite 2A
    Helena, MT 59624
    (t) 406-442-7660
    (f) 406-442-7763

    www.montanabar.org


    NEBRASKA
    Nebraska does not have mandatory CLE requirements. Completion of CLE is encouraged to help lawyers and judges increase their general professional competence, keep abreast of developments in the law, and become more proficient in selected areas of practice. If you are licensed in another jurisdiction with mandatory CLE requirements, please note specific state accreditation information and reporting requirements of IATLaw.org courses and download a certificate of completion for your records.
    Cycle Requirement:No State Requirement
    Contact Information:

    Nebraska State Bar Association
    635 South 14th Street
    P.O. Box 81809
    Lincoln, NE 68501-1809
    (t) 402-475-7091 x 40
    (f) 402-475-7098
    www.nebar.com


    NEVADA
    Attorneys may satisfy all 12 credits of CLE requirements through online audio or video courses.
    Alternate format (online) courses must be verified by sworn affidavit of the active member seeking to obtain credit in accordance with Regulation 8 of the NV MCLE Regulations using Form 3 or 3A. The affidavit must be mailed to the Board within thirty (30) days after the conclusion of the course.
    Reporting Cycle:One year, based on a calendar year, beginning in the second year of admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 12 (total), 2 (Ethics)
    Reporting Date:March 1st

    By Jan 15th of each year, the NV MCLE Board will mail Form 6 to each NV attorney not exempt from MCLE requirements. Form 6 must be verified and returned by March 1st.

    Reporting Method:Nevada attorneys are allowed to take all 12 credit hours per year online. Alternate format (online) courses must be verified by sworn affidavit of the active member seeking to obtain credit in accordance with Regulation 8 of the NV MCLE Regulations. The affidavit must be mailed to the Board within thirty (30) days after the conclusion of the course. CLE credits earned in each calendar year are reported by the attorney to the Nevada MCLE Board on or before March 1st of each year. By January 15th of each year, the MCLE board mails to each attorney Form 6, which is used to verify and report MCLE attendance. Form 6 must be verified and returned to the Board on or before March 1st. Download the certificate of completion and the approved accreditation form for your records.
    Carryover:May carry-forward up to 15 general credits and a total of four (4) excess ethics credits, for the following two calendars after the year earned that are in excess of the required number of credits for such calendar year.
    Extension Information:Attorneys who have not completed their requirements by Dec 31st may receive, upon written request, an extension until March 15th. The request must be accompanied by a $25.00 extension fee. The request must include a reason for the deficiency and a list of the course(s) the attorney plans to attend to cure the deficiency.
    General Information:1 credit hour: 60 minutes of participation
    Exemptions:70 years of age or older
    a full-time member of the judiciary
    newly admitted to the bar
    Contact Information:

    Board of CLE
    295 Holcomb Avenue, Suite A
    Reno, NV 89502
    (t) 775-329-4443
    (f) 775-329-4291
    www.nvbar.org


    NEW HAMPSHIRE
    Attorneys may satisfy up to six (6) credits of CLE requirements through online courses.
    Reporting Cycle:One year. The reporting cycle is July 1st to June 30th, beginning in the second year of admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 12 (total), 2 (Ethics, Professional Responsibility, Substance Abuse, Malpractice Prevention, or Attorney-Client Dispute)
    Reporting Date:August 1st
    Reporting Method:New Hampshire attorneys are allowed to take six (6) credit hours per year online. New Hampshire lawyers must apply for credit for online courses not presented by an annual sponsor. Applications are required before filing your Certificate of Compliance. Download the certificate of completion and the approved accreditation form for your records.
    Carryover:Up to 12 credits, including two (2) in ethics, may be carried over to the next reporting cycle.
    General Information:1 credit hour: 60 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:newly admitted to the bar
    inactive for 3 or more months
    a state or federal judge
    a full-time court clerk who does not practice law
    an elected state or federal official
    hardship
    Contact Information:

    NHMCLE Board
    112 Pleasant Street
    Concord, NH 03301
    (t) 603-224-6942
    (f) 603-224-2910
    www.nhbar.org


    NEW JERSEY
    There is no CLE requirement at this time; however, there is a mandatory three year Skills & Methods course requirement (which is administered by New Jersey Institute for CLE on behalf of the New Jersey Supreme Court).

    Completion of CLE is encouraged to help lawyers and judges increase their general professional competence, keep abreast of developments in the law, and become more proficient in selected areas of practice. If you are licensed in another jurisdiction with mandatory CLE requirements, please note specific state accreditation information and reporting requirements of IATLaw.org courses and download a certificate of completion for your records.

    Cycle Requirement:No State Requirement
    Contact Information:

    New Jersey Institute for CLE
    1 Constitution Square
    New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1500
    (t) 732-214-8500
    (f) 732-249-0383
    www.njicle.com


    NEW MEXICO
    Attorneys may satisfy up to five (5) credits of CLE requirements through online courses.
    Effective January 1st, 2006:

    • The total credit requirement has been reduced from 15 credit hours to 12. As part of the requirement reduction, only one (1) credit hour must be earned in the subject of professionalism.
    • Credit hours will be based upon a 60-minute hour rather than a 50-minute hour.
    • Absent prior board approval in exceptional circumstances, no more than four (4) hours of credit may be given during one compliance year for self-study activities and the individual seeking self-study credit must not have received self-study credit for the same activity in a prior compliance year.
    • Any member may carry up to twelve (12) hours of credits earned in one (1) compliance year over to the next compliance year only. One (1) ethics credit may be carried over as part of the twelve (12) hours of credits. Only one (1) professionalism credits may be carried over as part of the twelve (12) hours of credit.
    Reporting Cycle:One year. The reporting cycle runs from January 1st to December 31st.
    Cycle Requirement: 15 (total), 1 (Ethics) , 2 (Professionalism)
    Reporting Date:April 30th
    Carryover:Up to 15 credits earned in a year may be carried over to the next reporting cycle. NOTE: This maximum comprises 12 general, 1 ethics and 2 professionalism. This provision does not apply to self-study credits. Professionalism credits cannot be converted to general or ethics for carry-over. Two excess professionalism will carry forward.
    General Information:1 credit hour: 50 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:inactive
    a federal judge
    newly admitted to the Bar within that year
    Contact Information:

    New Mexico Bar Association
    5121 Masthead N.E.
    P.O. Box 25883
    (t) 505-797-6058
    www.nmbar.org


    NEW YORK
    Experienced Attorneys (those in their second or later reporting cycle) may satisfy all 24 credits, including ethics, with on demand online courses. Newly Admitted (or "Transitional") Attorneys (those in their first reporting cycle) may not satisfy MCLE credits with online courses without seeking prior permission from the NYS CLE Board.
    Reporting Cycle:Experienced Attorneys: Two years, ending on the attorney's birthday.

    **Newly Admitted or 'Transitional' Attorneys: Two years. The reporting cycle runs from the date of admission to the New York bar to the attorney's birthday in the second calendar year following admission. Please note that the number of credits required for Newly Admitted Attorneys is different than for Experienced Attorneys. The number of required credit hours for Newly Admitted Attorneys is as follow: 32 credit hours (16 credit hours in each of the two 12 month periods in the reporting cycle), consisting of:
    Any topic: 16 credit hours
    Ethics & Professionalism: Three (3) credit hours
    Practical Skills: Six (6) credit hours
    Practice Management & Professional Practice: Seven (7) credit hours
    Cycle Requirement: 24 (total), 4 (Ethics and Professionalism)
    Reporting Date:Attorneys' birthday in the year their cycle ends
    Reporting Method:All 24 MCLE hours are allowed in online format. This course is not transitional in nature and inappropriate for newly admitted attorneys. Download the NY certificate of completion and the approved accreditation form for your records and maintain them for four years as per Section 5 of the NY CLE Rules. Attorneys must certify on the biennial registration statement that they have completed the appropriate credit hours.
    Carryover:Experienced Attorneys: Up to six (6) credits may be carried over to the next reporting cycle. Experienced attorneys may carry over Ethics and Professionalism credits from one cycle to the next.

    Newly Admitted or 'Transitional' Attorneys: Up to eight (8) credit hours taken in the first 12 months of the reporting cycle may be carried over to the second 12 months of the reporting cycle. Up to six (6) credit hours earned in the second 12 month of the reporting cycle may be carried over to the next reporting cycle. Ethics and Professionalism credits may not be carried over.
    General Information:1 credit hour: Equals 50 minutes of participation
    Record keeping: Attorneys must keep their CLE Attendance Certificate for four years from completion of seminar.
    Exemptions:Exempt if a member of the United States armed forces
    an attorney from other jurisdiction temporarily admitted to practice in New York State
    an attorney admitted to any other state for five years previous to their being admitted to New York State Bar
    newly admitted lawyers who have retired from practice of law.
    Contact Information:

    NYS CLE Board
    25 Beaver Street, 11th Floor
    New York, NY 10004
    (t) 212-428-2105
    (f) 212-428-2188
    www.nycourts.gov


    NORTH CAROLINA
    Attorneys may satisfy up to four (4) of their CLE requirements via the Internet and/or online.
    Reporting Cycle:One year, based on a calendar year, beginning upon bar admission if admitted before May 31st and in the second year of bar admission if admitted after May 31st.
    Cycle Requirement: 12 (total), 2 (Ethics, Professional Responsibility or Professional Liability)
    Reporting Date:February 28th
    Carryover:Up to two (2) additional hours of ethics and up to 10 additional hours of general education may be carried over to the next calendar year. There is no provision to carry hours over multiple years.
    General Information:1 credit hour: Equals 60 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:65 years of age and over
    a judge
    in the armed forces of the United States
    a government official
    hardship.
    Contact Information:

    North Carolina Bar
    P.O. Box 26148
    Raleigh, NC 27611
    (t) 919-733-0123
    (f) 919-821-9168
    www.ncbar.com


    NORTH DAKOTA
    Attorneys may satisfy up to 15 credits through self-study, which includes electronic recordings.
    Reporting Cycle:Three years. The reporting cycle is July 1st to June 30th of the third year, based on the year of admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 45 (total), 3 (Ethics)
    Reporting Date:July 30th
    Carryover:No credits may be carried over to the next reporting cycle.
    General Information:1 credit hour: Equals 60 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:inactive
    a judge
    Contact Information:

    North Dakota CLE Commission
    PO Box 2136
    Bismark, ND 58502
    Phone: (701)255-1404
    Fax: (701)224-1621
    www.sband.org


    OHIO
    Attorneys may satisfy up to six (6) credits of their CLE requirements via the Internet and/or online.
    Reporting Cycle:Two years, based a calendar year, beginning in the second year of admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 24 (total), 1 (Lawyer's Creed and Aspirational Ideals) , 1 (Professional Responsibility) , 0.5 (Substance Abuse)
    Reporting Date:January 31st, the reporting date is based on the last name:
    A-L Even Year
    M-Z Odd Year
    Carryover:Up to 12 credits of may be carried over to next reporting cycle. CLE hours used as carryover from one biennial reporting period to another are considered general hours.
    General Information:1 credit hour: Equals 60 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:newly admitted to the bar
    inactive
    in the military
    medical hardship
    foreign legal consultant
    Contact Information:

    Commission on CLE
    30 E. Broad Street, 35th Fl.
    Columbus, OH 43266-0419
    (t) 614-387-9325
    (f) 614-728-0864

    www.sconet.state.oh.us


    OKLAHOMA
    Attorneys may satisfy up to three (3) credits of their CLE requirements through computer based programs.
    Reporting Cycle:One year, based on a calendar year, beginning in the second year of admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 12 (total), 1 (Ethics, Malpractice Prevention or Professionalism)
    Reporting Date:February 15th
    Carryover:Hours of credit in excess of the minimum annual requirement may be carried forward for credit only in the succeeding calendar year. Such hours must, however, be reported in the annual report of compliance for the year in which they were completed and in the year for which they are being claimed and must be designated as hours being carried forward.
    General Information:1 credit hour: Equals 50 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:newly admitted to the bar
    65 years of age or older
    a non-resident or inactive attorney
    a newly admitted attorney
    a judge
    an elected official
    a member of the United States armed forces.
    Contact Information:

    Oklahoma Bar Association
    1901 N. Lincoln Blvd.
    Oklahoma City, OK 73152
    (t) 405-524-2365/416-7009
    (f) 405-416-7001
    www.okbar.org


    OREGON
    Attorneys may satisfy all of their CLE requirements via the Internet and/or online.
    Reporting Cycle:In general, all active members shall have three-year reporting periods, except as provided in Rule 3.5(b), (c) and (d). For New Admittees, the first reporting period starts on the date of admission as an active member and ends on December 31st of the next calendar year. All subsequent reporting periods are three years.
    Cycle Requirement: 45 (total), 3 (Elimination of Bias) , 5 (Ethics) , 1 (Statutory Child Abuse)
    Reporting Date:No later than 5:00 pm January 31st
    Reporting Method: Currently, Oregon's MCLE program is an affidavit based self-reporting system. CLE sponsors are not required to submit attendance information to Oregon. You may find MCLE forms at the Oregon State Bar website. Keep a copy of the certificate of completion form for your records.
    Carryover:No more than six (6) ethics credits and no more than three (3) elimination of bias credits can be carried over into a subsequent reporting period. Ethics and elimination of bias credits in excess of the carry over limit may be carried over as general credits. Child abuse education credits earned in exess of the reporting period requirement may be carried over as general credits, but a new child abuse education credit must be earned in each reporting period. Carry over credits from a reporting period in which the credits were completed by the member may not be carried forward more than one reporting period.
    Extension Information:Noncompliance for failure to complete the MCLE requirement during the applicable reporting period can be cured by doing the following within 63 days following mailing of the notice of noncompliance:

    (1) Completing the credit hours necessary to satisfy the MCLE requirement for the applicable reporting period;

    (2) Filing the completed compliance report; and

    (3) Paying the late filing fee specified in MCLE Regulation 7.200. (See 7.2 below - the fees start at $50 for not filing affidavit timely and $200 for not fulfilling CLE timely).

    When it is determined that the noncompliance has been cured, the MCLE Administrator shall notify the affected active member that he or she has complied with the MCLE requirement for the applicable reporting period. If the noncompliance is not cured within the deadline specified in Rule 7.5, the MCLE Administrator shall recommend to the Supreme Court that the affected active member be suspended from membership in the bar.

    The late fee for curing a failure to timely file a completed compliance report is $50 if the report is filed within 30 days of the filing deadline and $100 if the report is filed more than 30 days after the filing deadline but within the 63 day cure period; if additional time for filing is granted by the MCLE Administrator, the fee shall increase by $50 for every additional 30 days or part thereof.

    The late fee for not completing the MCLE requirement during the applicable reporting period is $200 if the requirement is completed with the 63 day cure period; if additional time for meeting the requirement is granted by the MCLE Administrator, the fee shall increase by $50 for every additional 30 days or part thereof.

    General Information:1 credit hour: Equals 60 minutes of participation.

    Attorney Record Keeping: Attorney must maintain all Attendance Reports for 12 months after reporting date.

    Application of Credits:

    (a) Legal ethics and professionalism credits can be applied to the general or practical skills requirement.

    (b) Practical skills credits can be applied to the general requirement.

    (c) No more than two (2) child abuse credits can be applied to the ethics requirement, and then only for a single two-hour program. Additional child abuse credits can be applied to the general or practical skills requirement.

    (d) Credits in other aspects of professional responsibility in excess of the three required in a reporting period can be applied to the general or practical skills requirement.

    If within 1st year of admission:
    Any topic: Three (3) credit hours
    Practical skills: 10 credit hours
    Ethics: Two (2) credit hours

    Exemptions:an inactive attorney
    hardship
    Contact Information:

    Oregon State Bar
    5200 SW Meadows Road
    Lake Oswego, OR 97035
    (t) 503-620-0222 x 315
    (f) 503-684-1366
    www.osbar.org


    PENNSYLVANIA
    Attorneys may satisfy up to four (4) hours of distance learning per compliance year.
    Reporting Cycle:One year, based on a calendar year, beginning upon bar admission. Depending upon what compliance group the Pennsylvania CLE Board assigns the requirement may not begin for up to 24 months.
    Cycle Requirement: 12 (total), 1 (Ethics)
    Reporting Date:Note: Pennsylvania CLE Board assigns compliance group
    Group 1 April 30
    Group 2 August 31
    Group 3 December 31
    Carryover:Up to 24 credits may be carried over for the next two reporting cycles. CLE credits for ethics, professionalism or substance abuse may be applied as provided in Section 3(d).
    General Information:1 credit hour: Equals 60 minutes of participation.

    Exemptions:inactive or non-resident lawyer
    member of the judiciary
    member of the United States armed forces
    undue hardship
    Contact Information:

    PA CLE Board
    5035 Ritter Road #500
    Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
    (t) 717-795-2139/800-497-2253
    (f) 717-795-2120
    www.pacle.com


    RHODE ISLAND
    Attorneys may not satisfy their CLE requirements via the Internet and/or online.
    Reporting Cycle:One year. The reporting cycle is July 1st to June 30th, beginning in the second year of admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 10 (total), 2 (Ethics)
    Reporting Date:June 30th
    Carryover:Up to 10 credits may be carried over to the next reporting cycle, but not thereafter. Excess credits must be reported in the year taken.
    General Information:1 credit hour: Equals 50 minutes of participation.

    Attorney record keeping: Attorney must maintain attendance records for three years following the reporting period.

    Exemptions:70 years of age or over
    inactive or retired lawyer
    hold state or federal office and not practicing law
    a state or federal judge or magistrate
    newly admitted attorney to the bar
    a full time member of the United States armed forces
    Contact Information:

    MCLE Commission
    250 Benefit Street
    Providence, RI 02903
    (t) 401-222-4942
    (f) 401-222-4302
    www.ribar.com


    SOUTH CAROLINA
    Effective September 1, 2003, the South Carolina Supreme Court began allowing up to four (4) hours of CLE credits per reporting period to be earned through on demand audio-visual or media presentations. Audio-visual or media presentations are limited to one hour per program.
    Reporting Cycle:One year. The reporting cycle is January 15th to January 14th, beginning in the second year of admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 14 (total), 2 (Ethics)
    Reporting Date:January 18th
    Carryover:An active member who accumulates in excess of 14 hours credit in a calendar year may carry a maximum of 14 hours forward to the next calendar year, of which a maximum of two (2) hours may be LEPR credit (earned LEPR credit in excess of the required two hours may be applied to CLE requirements and/or carried forward not to exceed the maximum of 14 hours).
    General Information:1 credit hour: Equals 60 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:over 65 years of age or have been a member of the Bar for over 30 years
    a member of the United States armed forces
    Contact Information:

    Commission on CLE & Specialization
    PO Box 2138
    Columbia, SC 29202
    (t) 803-799-5578
    (f) 803-799-4118
    www.scbar.org
    www.commcle.org


    SOUTH DAKOTA
    No mandatory CLE requirement at this time, although the State Bar of South Dakota actively encourages attorneys to take CLE seminars. Completion of CLE is encouraged to help lawyers and judges increase their general professional competence, keep abreast of developments in the law, and become more proficient in selected areas of practice. If you are licensed in another jurisdiction with mandatory CLE requirements, please note specific state accreditation information and reporting requirements of IATLaw.org courses and download a certificate of completion for your records.
    Cycle Requirement:No State Requirement
    Contact Information:

    State Bar of South Dakota
    222 East Capital Avenue
    Pierre, SD 57501-2596
    (t) 605-224-7554/800-952-2333
    www.sdbar.org


    TENNESSEE
    Attorneys may satisfy up six (6) credit hours per reporting cycle of their CLE requirements via the Internet and/or online.
    Pursuant to Rule 21, Section 4.08 and 5.01(f), the Tennessee Commission on Continuing Legal Education and Specialization approved online programs as a distance learning format. Online programs with interactive components are accredited for actual time spent for programs involving video or audio components. Text only programs are accredited for a maximum of one (1) hour of credit for each program.
    Reporting Cycle:One year, based on a calendar year, beginning in the second year of bar admission.
    Cycle Requirement: 15 (total), 3 (Ethics) , 3 (Ethics and Professionalism)
    Reporting Date:March 1st
    Reporting Method:Pursuant to Rule 21, Section 4.08 and 5.01(f), the Tennessee Commission on Continuing Legal Education and Specialization approved online programs as a distance learning format. Online programs with interactive components are accredited for actual time spent for programs involving video or audio components. Text only programs are accredited for a maximum of one (1) hour of credit for each program. Under the Tennessee MCLE Rules and Regulations sponsors are responsible for reporting attendance to MCLE (Regulation 8A). Keep a copy of the certificate of completion form for your records.
    Carryover:Up to 12 credits and three (3) ethics/professionalism hours may be carried over to the next reporting cycle. Ethics/professionalism credits may be carried forward to the subsequent year's EP requirement, but will NOT be used to satisfy any deficiency in the 12 hour general requirement. Such hours must, however, be reported and paid for when the Annual Report Statement for the year in which the hours were earned is filed.
    Extension Information:Tennessee attorneys who missed the MCLE compliance deadline have until May 31st to remedy any deficiencies.

    Per Tennessee's MCLE Commission rule 7.01, by March 31st of each year, the Commission shall compile:

    (a) A list of those attorneys who did not timely file an Annual Report Statement for the preceding calendar year; and

    (b) A list of those attorneys who timely filed an Annual Report Statement indicating lack of compliance with the requirements of Section 3 of the Rule 7.01 for the preceding calendar year; and

    (c) A list of those attorneys who timely filed an Annual Report Statement indicating compliance with the requirements of Section 3 of Rule 7.01 for the preceding calendar year but who did not pay any and all fees due under Section 8.03 of this Rule.

    On March 31st of each year, the Commission shall serve each attorney listed on any of the three foregoing lists a Notice of Non-completion requiring the attorney to remedy his/her deficiencies on or before May 31st of that year. Each attorney to whom a Notice of Non-completion is issued shall pay to the Commission a non-completion fee of One Hundred Dollars ($100.00). Such non-completion fee shall be paid on or before May 31st of that year unless the attorney shows to the satisfaction of the Executive Director of the Commission that the Notice of Non-completion was erroneously issued, in which case no such fee is due.

    Each attorney to whom a Notice of Non-completion is issued shall file an affidavit with the Commission on or before May 31st of that year showing that he or she has remedied his/her deficiencies. In the event an attorney fails to timely remedy his/her deficiencies or fails to timely file such affidavit, the attorney shall pay to the Commission, in addition to the non-completion fee, a delinquent compliance fee of Two Hundred Dollars ($200.00). On July 1st of each year, the Commission shall prepare a draft Suspension Order listing all attorneys who were issued Notices of Non-completion and who failed to remedy their deficiencies by May 31st.

    General Information:1 credit hour: Equals 60 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:65 years of age or over
    a temporary nonresident attorney
    an out-of-state attorney
    a member of the United States armed forces
    newly admitted to the bar
    holding elective office in the Executive or Legislative branches of government
    a federal judge or magistrate
    hardship
    Contact Information:

    Tennessee Commission on CLE & Specialization
    511 Union Street, Suite 1630
    Nashville, TN 37219
    (t) 615-741-3096
    (f) 615-532-2477
    www.cletn.com


    TEXAS
    Fifteen (15) total hours of accredited continuing legal education credit are required to be completed during each MCLE compliance year (including the initial 24-month compliance year) in order to meet the minimum educational requirements set out in Article XII, Section 6A, State Bar Rules.

    A minimum of ten (10) Participatory credit hours are required for each MCLE compliance year and a maximum of five (5) Self-Study credit hours can be applied toward each MCLE compliance year.

    Reporting Cycle:One year. The reporting cycle is based on the attorney's birth month, beginning in the year of admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 15 (total), 3 (Ethics)
    Reporting Date:Beginning of the reporting cycle is the first day of the attorney's birth month. The end of the reporting cycle is the last day of the month preceding the attorney's birth month.
    Reporting Method:Under the Texas MCLE Rules sponsors are responsible for reporting attendance to MCLE (MCLE Rules 6.1).

    IMPORTANT: If you are near the end of your compliance year, you will need to report your CLE credits for any seminars that you complete directly to your MCLE record at the Bar by the last day of your birth month in order to avoid a penalty fee for non-compliance. Per Texas MCLE rules, Texas bar members' minimum CLE requirements should be completed by the last day of the MCLE compliance year for any given year, which is the last day of the month that immediately precedes the attorney's birth month. However, if a member has not completed the minimum CLE requirements by the last day of any given MCLE compliance year, then that member shall be given an automatic grace period up to the last day of their birth month to complete the minimum requirements without penalty. If the minimum credits are not completed until after the end of the member's birth month for that year, then a penalty fee is required.

    Because your credits must be both completed and recorded on your record at the Bar by the last day of your birth month, if you are taking a course in your birth month, you are responsible for reporting your course credit as we will not be able to report your credits on time. Once you have completed your course, go to the MCLE page on the State Bar of Texas Website to record your final CLE credits for the seminar on your MCLE record at the Bar. You can go directly to this page on the MCLE site by clicking the following link:

    Texas Bar MCLE Login

    At this site, you will need to login with your Texas Bar number and PIN number. (You can create a PIN if you don't already have one for the MCLE site). After you login, click 'Add Course or Self-Study Credit'. You will need the Texas course number assigned for this course to add your CLE credits to your MCLE record. The course number can be found on the last page of the course. Should you have any questions about using the new MCLE system to record your credits on your MCLE record, please contact the MCLE Dept. of the State Bar at 1-800-204-2222, ext. 2106.

    Download the certificate of completion and the approved accreditation form for your records.

    Carryover:Up to 15 credit hours, including three (3) hours of ethics and five (5) hours of self-study credits, may be carried over to the next reporting cycle.
    Extension Information:A member's minimum CLE requirements should be completed by the last day of the MCLE compliance year for any given year. However, if a member has not completed the minimum CLE requirements by the last day of any given MCLE compliance year, then that member shall be given an automatic grace period up to the last day of their birth month, or reporting month if an extension has been granted in accordance with these regulations and Article XII, to complete the minimum requirements without penalty. If the minimum credits are not completed or reported until after the end of the member's birth month for that year, then a penalty will be required as specified below in Section 7.3.
    General Information:1 credit hour equals 60 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:non-practicing or inactive attorney
    a state or federal judge
    a member of the Texas legislature or member of Congress
    undue hardship
    Contact Information:

    State Bar of Texas
    1414 Colorado, Suite 503
    Austin, TX 78701
    512-463-1463 x 2106
    800-204-2222
    512-463-1475
    mcle@texasbar.com
    www.texasbar.com


    UTAH
    Attorneys may satisfy up to 12 hours per reporting cycle of their CLE requirements via the Internet and/or online.
    Reporting Cycle:Two years, based on a calendar year, beginning in the year of admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 27 (total), 3 (Ethics or Professional Responsibility)
    Reporting Date:January 31st
    Carryover:Attorneys are not able to carry forward CLE credits from one reporting cycle to the next.
    General Information:1 credit hour: Equals 50 minutes of participation.
    Attorney Record Keeping: Attorney must maintain attendance records for all seminars completed for 4 years from completion of each seminar.
    Exemptions:inactive or non-resident of state
    a judge
    Contact Information:

    Utah Law & Justice Center
    645 S. 200 East, Suite 312
    Salt Lake City, UT 84111-3834
    (t) 801-297-7035
    (f) 801-531-0660
    www.utahbar.org


    VERMONT
    Attorneys may satisfy up to 10 self-study CLE credits through on demand online courses.
    Reporting Cycle:Two years. The reporting cycle is July 1st to June 30th, beginning in the second year of admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 20 (total), 2 (Ethics)
    Reporting Date:June 30th
    Reporting Method:Vermont attorneys must fulfill 20 hours of CLE, including two (2) hours of ethics, for each two year reporting cycle ending June 30th.

    To receive credit, you must complete and return a quiz for the course.

    Attorneys must return their affidavit for CLE with their relicensing statements by June 30th. Relicensing forms and blank CLE affidavits will be mailed in May, to be returned to the BBE office no later than June 30th. Attorneys whose licensing forms are not received by June 30th will be suspended on July 1st. If you cannot remember your reporting period, check your licensing card or click here for the Vermont list.

    Carryover:No. The two year reporting frames that make up your requirement are set out in the rules. Any request for a waiver would need to be made to the Board of Continuing Legal Education in writing. Approval is not assumable.
    Extension Information:An attorney who has failed to comply with the substantive requirements of these rules within the applicable compliance period may file a makeup plan, on his or her own initiative, or in response to a statement of noncompliance.

    You would need to file a makeup plan pursuant to Rule 7. Write a letter describing the specific courses you are planning on taking within 120 days and enclose the $50 makeup plan fee to Director, MCLE Board at 2418 Airport Road, Suite 2, Barre, VT 05641. It will be reviewed and you will be notified whether or not it is accepted. You will need to file an affidavit within 15 days following the 120-day period to be in compliance.

    General Information:1 credit hour: Equals 60 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:inactive attorney
    Contact Information:

    MCLE Board
    109 State Street
    Montpelier, VT 05609-0702
    (t) 802-828-3281
    (f) 802-828-3457
    www.vtbar.org


    VIRGINIA
    Attorneys may satisfy their CLE requirements via the Internet and/or online.
    Reporting Cycle:One year beginning November 1st and ending October 31st.
    Cycle Requirement: 12 (total), 2 (Ethics)
    Reporting Date:December 15th
    Carryover:Up to 12 credits, including two (2) ethics credits, may be carried over to the next reporting cycle.
    General Information:1 credit hour: Equals 60 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:inactive or retired attorney
    newly admitted to bar
    Contact Information:

    Virginia State Bar
    8th and Main Bldg.
    707 E. Main Street, Suite 1500
    Richmond, VA 23219-2803
    (t) 804-775-0578
    (f) 804-775-0501
    www.vsb.org


    WASHINGTON
    Attorneys may satisfy up to 15 self-study credits of their CLE requirements through online courses.
    Reporting Cycle:Three years, based on a calendar year, beginning in the second full year of admission to the bar. Newly admitted members are exempt for the year of admission and for the following calendar year. After this exemption period, the three year reporting period begins. Any credits earned in the four-plus years following the date of admission to the bar may be claimed at the end of the first reporting period.
    Cycle Requirement: 45 (total), 6 (Ethics)
    Reporting Date:January 31st. You will receive a CLE Certification Form in your Licensing Packet at the end of your three year reporting period. Fill in the information on course title, sponsor, dates, and total credits for each approved seminar. Sign, date and return the form to the WSBA by the end of January. Only WSBA-approved courses earned during the reporting may be claimed for credit.
    Reporting Method:Washington attorneys may satisfy up to 15 credits of their CLE requirements through online courses.

    Under the Washington MCLE Rules and Regulations online CLE sponsors are not responsible for reporting attendance to MCLE. It is the attorney's responsibility to track attendance at CLE activities.

    An online roster is available at pro.wsba.org to assist you in tracking your CLE attendance. You may apply for credit approval and add or delete courses to your online roster.

    Download the certificate of completion form for your records.

    Carryover:You may carry over into your next reporting period a maximum of 15 credits. Of the 15 total carryover credits, a maximum of two (2) may be ethics credits. The number of carryover credits from your last reporting period is printed in the upper right-hand corner of the CLE Certification Form.
    Extension Information:If you are not in compliance by December 31st of your three-year reporting period, there is an automatic four-month extension. You do not need to file a petition for this extension, and generally the MCLE Board will not review petitions for extensions until after the May 1st deadline. Credits must be earned and reported on or before May 1st. There is a late fee of $150 assessed for the first late reporting period. The fee increases by $300 for each consecutive late filing ($450 for the second consecutive late filing, $750 for the third consecutive late filing, etc). Please do send in the C2 form with credits listed to date and include the assessed late fee.

    If you earned a sufficient number of credits but did not submit your CLE affidavit on or before February 1st, you still owe a late fee. A late fee of $150 is assessed for submitting your affidavit after the February 1st deadline. The fee increases by $300 for each consecutive late filing ($450 for the second consecutive late filing, $750 for the third consecutive late filing, etc).

    General Information:1 credit hour: Equals 60 minutes of participation.
    If you reside outside of the U.S., you are not exempt from the MCLE reporting requirements of APR 11. If you find it difficult to attend CLEs while residing outside the U.S., you may request that the MCLE Board approve a waiver of the 15 A/V credit limit. The request must be made in writing and addressed to the MCLE Board. Because of the unavailability of live programs in some geographic areas, the MCLE Board may give approval to programs offered in those areas that would not otherwise fully meet the standards for approval if offered in the U.S. For information, call the WSBA Service Center 800-945-WSBA or 206-443-WSBA or e-mail questions@wsba.org.
    Exemptions:inactive or retired attorney
    newly admitted to the Washington Bar
    have been a member of the Bar for 50 or more years
    Contact Information:

    WA State Board of CLE
    2101 Fourth Avenue, 4th Floor
    Seattle, WA 98121-2330
    (t) 206-733-5912/800-945-WSBA
    (f) 206-727-8320
    www.wsba.org


    WEST VIRGINIA
    Attorneys may satisfy up to 12 credits of their CLE requirements via the Internet and/or online.
    Reporting Cycle:Two years. The reporting cycle is July 1st to June 30th. Reporting Periods cover even years - example 7/1/02 through 6/30/04, 7/1/04 through 6/30/06, etc. Any lawyer not previously admitted to practice in West Virginia who is admitted during the first 12months of any 24-month reporting period is required to complete 12 hours in approved MCLE activities including at least three (3) hours in legal ethics, office management, substance abuse, or elimination of bias in the legal profession before the end of the current reporting period. Any lawyer not previously admitted during the second 12 months of any 24-month reporting period is exempt for that entire reporting period.
    Cycle Requirement: 24 (total), 3 (Ethics, Office Management, Substance Abuse or Elimination of Bias)
    Reporting Date:July 31st. On or before July 31st, each attorney must file a report of completion of such activities. The Commission recommends that such a report be completed on Form C-Certification of Completion of Approved MCLE Activity.
    Reporting Method:West Virginia attorneys must complete 24 credit hours of CLE, including three (3) credit hours of ethics, office management, substance abuse, or elimination of bias in the legal profession during each two year reporting cycle ending June 30th of even years.

    On or before July 31st, each attorney must file a report of completion of MCLE activities. The Commission recommends that such a report be completed on Form C-Certification of Completion of Approved MCLE Activity.

    Carryover:Attorneys who exceed the minimum MCLE requirement may carry a maximum of six (6) credit-hours forward to only the next reporting period, except that no carryover credits can be applied to the legal ethics, office management, substance abuse requirement and/or elimination of bias in the legal profession.
    General Information:1 credit hour: Equals 50 minutes of participation
    Newly Admitted Attorneys: "Bridge-the Gap" seminar must be completed within six months prior to admission or within 12 months after admission.
    Exemptions:extreme hardship or extenuating circumstances
    an active but non-practicing attorney or a judge
    Contact Information:

    WV MCLE Commission
    2006 Kanawha Blvd. E.
    Charleston, WV 25311-2204
    (t) 304-558-7992
    (f) 304-558-2467
    www.wvbar.org


    WISCONSIN
    Attorneys may not satisfy CLE requirements through on demand online courses. Wisconsin attorneys may satisfy CLE requirements with live webcasts.
    Reporting Cycle:Two years, based on a calendar year, beginning the second year of admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 30 (total), 3 (Ethics or Professional Responsibility)
    Reporting Date:December 31st
    Carryover:Up to 15 hours of approved continuing legal education may be carried forward to the next reporting period if certain conditions are met.
    General Information:1 credit hour: Equals 50 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:newly admitted to the bar
    an inactive attorney
    practicing law in another jurisdiction
    a judge
    Contact Information:

    Board of Examiners
    Lenney Bldg.
    110 E. Main Street, Suite 715
    Madison, WI 53703-3328
    (t) 608-266-9760
    (f) 608-266-1196
    www.courts.state.wi.us


    WYOMING
    Attorneys may satisfy up to five (5) credits of their CLE requirements via the Internet and/or online.
    Reporting Cycle:One year, based on a calendar year, beginning the second year of admission to the bar.
    Cycle Requirement: 15 (total), 1 (Ethics or Professional Responsibility)
    Reporting Date:January 31st
    Carryover:Credits may be carried over for the next two reporting cycles.
    General Information:1 credit hour: Equals 60 minutes of participation.
    Exemptions:inactive
    newly admitted to the bar
    a judge
    Contact Information:

    Continuing Legal Education
    500 Randall Avenue
    P.O. Box 109
    Cheyenne, WY 82003
    (t) 307-632-9061
    (f) 307-632-3737
    www.wyomingbar.org


    IAT law
    The Institute of American & Talmudic Law • 3 West 57th Street, Ninth floor. New York, N.Y., 10019
    © copyright 2007-8 The Institute of American and Talmudic Law Inc- Web Design by Braintoaster Interactive
    Founded by Chabad Lubavitch of Midtown Manhattan 2001
    Powered by Alef Info Systems

    Home Online CLE Upcoming CLE Program Audio CLE Library View Cart